Kumu Kahua Second One Minute Play Festival In HI

KKT-Plain Logo Kumu Kahua One Minute Play FestivalHONOLULU HI – The One-Minute Play Festival (Dominic D’Andrea, Producing Artistic Director & Caitlin Wees, Associate Producer), Honolulu Theatre for Youth (Becky Dunning, Managing Director & Eric Johnson, Artistic Director), and Kumu Kahua (Donna Blanchard, Managing Director & Harry Wong III, Artistic Director) have created a dynamic partnership for The 2nd Hawai‘i One-minute Play Festival with part of the proceeds to benefit artist residency and educational programing.


The 2nd Annual Hawai‘i One-minute Play Festival will be presented on Saturday, May 21st and Sunday, May 22nd at Honolulu Theatre for Youth’s Tenney Theatre (229 Queen Emma Square). Both performances are at 8:00PM. Tickets are$20 and available for purchase at Kumu Kahua Theatre: KumuKahua.Org or 46 Merchant Street, 536-4441.  Box office hours are from 11-3, Mon-Fri.


One-minute plays by established and emerging Hawaiian playwrights were commissioned for this special event, prompted by #1MPF’s unique playmaking process.

The festival will feature works by 

Angie Anderson, Dance Aoki, Diane Aoki, Tammy Hailipua Baker, Alvin Chan, Annie Cusick Wood, Ron Encarnacion, Walt Gaines, Karen Hackler, Denny Hironaga, April Hisatake, Maile Holck, Jason Kanda, Taurie Kinoshita, Daniel A. Kelin II, Yilong Liu, Marion Lyman-Mersereau, Terri Madden, Sean O’Malley, Janice McGrath, Kiana Rivera, Susan Soon He Stanton, Joseph Stanton, Will Schoettle, Robert St. John,

Susan Lee St. John, Eleanor Svaton, Tyler Tanabe, Courtney Takabayashi, Mark Tjarks, Ph.D., Bryan Wake, John W. White, & more!


Directed by Annie Cusick Wood, Laura Clark Greever, Reiko Ho, Willian Ha’o, Taurie Kinoshita, Terri Madden, Lurana O’Malley, & Junior Tesoro


The One-­Minute Play Festival (#1MPF) is America’s largest and longest running grass roots theatre company, founded by Producing Artistic Director, Dominic D’Andrea. #1MPF is social barometer project, which investigates the zeitgeist of different communities through dialogue, consensus building, and a performance of 50-100 short moments generated by each community. #1MPF works in partnership with theatres and/or social organizations sharing playwright, educational, orcommunity-specific missions across the country. The aim is to create locally sourced playwright-focused community events, with the goal of promoting the spirit of radical inclusion. #1MPF represents playwrights of different age, gender, race, cultures, and points of career. The work attempts to reflect the theatrical landscape of local artistic communities by creating a dialogue between the collective conscious and the individual voice.


In each city, #1MPF works with partnering organizations to identify programs or initiatives in each community to support with the proceeds from ticket sales. The goal is to find ways give directly back to the artists in each community. Supported programs have ranged from educational programming, youth poetry projects, theatre program in prisons, playwright residencies and memberships, playwrights salaried commissions, community access projects, arts workshops, and other social and artistic initiatives.


Annual partnerships have been created with theaters in over 20 cities including: New York, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Chicago, Trenton, Atlanta, Philadelphia, Washington, DC, Baltimore, Boston, Miami, Minneapolis, New York, Seattle, Dallas, Austin, Indianapolis, Anchorage, Honolulu, St. Louis, and more, with partnering institutions like Primary Stages, Oregon Shakespeare Festival, Second Stage Uptown, New Georges at New York City Center, Z-Space, A.C.T., Trinity Rep, Victory Gardens Theatre, Cornerstone Theatre Company, The Playwrights Foundation, Boston Playwrights Theatre, Actor’s Express, InterAct Theatre, Mixed Blood, Walking Shadow Theatre, Passage Theatre, Phoenix Theatre, Kitchen Dog Theatre, Salvage Vanguard & ScriptWorks,  ACT, Perseverance Theatre, Round House Theatre, Honolulu Theatre For Youth, and others.


Notable #1MPF contributors have included: David Henry Hwang, Lynn Nottage, Neil LaBute, Tina Howe, Donald Margulies, Nilaja Sun, Tarell Alvin McCraney, Robert Schenkkan, Lydia Diamond, Phillip Kan Gotanda, Kristoffer Diaz, Rajiv Joseph, Sam Hunter, Karen Hartman, Robert Askins, Colman Domingo, José Rivera, Craig Lucas, Mike Daisey, Greg Kotis, Michael John Garcés, & over to 1400 celebrated, emerging, and midcareer playwrights.  For more information visit:www.oneminuteplayfestival.com



HONOLULU THEATRE FOR YOUTH: The mission of Honolulu Theatre for Youth  is to produce professional theatre and drama education programs that make a difference in the lives of young people, families and educators in the State of Hawaii.



KUMU KAHAUA THEATRE: The mission of Kumu Kahua Theatre is to provide theatrical opportunities for the expression of local community lifestyles, whether contemporary or historical; to stage locally written plays set in Hawai`i or dealing with some aspect of the experience of Hawai‘i residents; to provide training and theatrical experiences for local playwrights, directors, performers and other theatrical artists; and to develop an increasingly large audience sensitive to plays and theatre pieces dealing specifically and truthfully with local subject matter.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.