Mia Katigbak Part Of 11th Round of Fox Foundation Resident Actor Fellowships

tcg fox image hi res Mia KatigbakNEW YORK, NY – The William & Eva Fox Foundation and Theatre Communications Group (TCG), the national organization for theatre, are pleased to announce the eleventh round of Fox Foundation Resident Actor Fellowships recipients. The goals of the program are: to further an actor’s artistic and professional development; to deepen and enrich their relationship with a not-for-profit theatre; ensure their continued professional commitment to live theatre; and to encourage actors to work outside their comfort zone. All recipients of this round of Fox Fellowships are committed to giving back to and sharing their artistic talents and skills with their respective communities. Funded by the Fox Foundation and administered by TCG, the fellowship is one of only a few programs of its kind for actors in the country…

Distinguished Achievement

Mia Katigbak, Ma-Yi Theater Company, New York, NY
The immediate driving force powering Mia is the need to face the physical and artistic challenges of a mature actor tackling a rigorous performance schedule. She will train to augment the stamina and resources she already has as she explores new avenues for creativity. She will spearhead the implementation of a series of master classes at Ma-Yi with a small group of advanced-level Asian American actors doing text analysis and scene work, working on a diverse repertory that will include classic and new plays. The master classes will be led by invited theatre artists – directors, actors, teachers – to offer as many varied approaches as possible. The classes will be intergenerational and include mature actors and those approaching a mature age so that they are equipped for opportunities ahead that NAATCO (National Asian American Theatre Co.) and Ma-Yi are working to provide. Mia is the 2016 recipient of the Lilly Award for Trailblazing, Obie Award for Performance, Lucille Lortel Award through League of Professional Theatre Women, and Charles Bowden Actor Award, among others. She is co-founder and artistic producing director of the award-winning company NAATCO and founding director of CAATA (Consortium of Asian American Theaters and Artists).



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.