David Henry Hwang Inducted Into American Theatre Hall of Fame

David Henry Hwang

New inductee into the American Theatre Hall of Fame, David Henry Hwang, here speaking at the 2018 National Asian American Theater Conference and Festival.

David Henry Hwang joins Rene Auberjonais, Christine Baranski, and Cicely Tyson; playwrights María Irene Fornés, Adrienne Kennedy; director Joe Mantello; and, posthumously, producer James Houghton in this year’s class.

The Theater Hall of Fame was created in 1970 at the Gershwin Theatre by James M. Nederlander and Earl Blackwell. To be eligible for nomination, the theatre professional must have, at least, 25 years in the Broadway theatre, five major productions, or be a leader of Off-Broadway or a regional theatre pioneer.

The annual voters are the Theater Hall of Fame members and 250 theatre critics across the United States. Over 40 nominees in ten categories are listed on the ballot each year.

Hwang joins Willa Kim and Ming Cho Lee as the only Asian American members of the Hall of fame.

For more information on the American Theatre Hall of Fame, check out their website.



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.