LA Drama Critics Nominate Asian American Theatre Artists for 2018 Work

The Los Angeles Drama Critics Circle (LADCC), which presented its first awards for excellence in Los Angeles, Orange County, and Ventura County a half-century ago, has begun the gala celebration of its 50th anniversary by announcing its nominations for the year 2018 (Dec. 1, 2017 – Nov. 30, 2018).

The LADCC is further thrilled to announce that this historic occasion will take place on Monday, April 8, 2019 at one of the region’s most historic and beautiful theatres, Pasadena Playhouse, at 39 S. El Molino Avenue in Pasadena.

The Asian American artists include:

The Ted Schmitt Award for the world premiere of an outstanding new play goes to Lauren Yee for Cambodian Rock Band, originally produced by South Coast Repertory.

Outstanding production
· Cambodian Rock Band, South Coast Repertory.
· Vietgone, East West Players.

Lead Performance
· Sylvia Kwan in Vietgone, East West Players.
· Joseph Ngo in Cambodian Rock Band, South Coast Repertory.
· Conrad Ricamora in Soft Power, Center Theatre Group / Ahmanson Theatre.
· Paul Yen in Vietgone, East West Players.

Featured Performance
Daisuke Tsuji, Cambodian Rock Band

Ensemble Performance
· Vietgone,East West Players.


· Jennifer Chang, Vietgone, East West Players.
· Chay Yew, Cambodian Rock Band, South Coast Repertory.

Musical Score
Dengue Fever, Cambodian Rock Band

Music Direction
Matthew MacNelly, Cambodian Rock Band, South Coast Repertory.

Sound Design
· Mikhail Fiksel, Cambodian Rock Band, South Coast Repertory.

· Kaitlyn Pietras and Jason H. Thompson, Vietgone, East West Players.

· Thomas Isao Morinaka and Aaron Aoki for Fight Choreography, Vietgone, East West Players.

BroadwayWorld coverage of the nominations is here.

The Godfather of Asian American Theatre

There's some bio material here: http://wp.me/P5RntU-4G

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.