2022 Lortel Awards Showcase Asian American Theatre Talent

2022 Lortel Awards Honors David Henry Hwang

2022 Lortel AwardsProduced by the Off-Broadway League and Lucille Lortel Theatre, with additional support provided by TDF, the 2022 Awards, presented in sixteen categories, were the first to feature an award for Outstanding Ensemble and for non-gender specific performance categories. Garnering the most awards, with three each, were Kimberly Akimbo and Oratorio for Living Things. This year’s ceremony, as previously announced, also recognized special honorees Deirdre O’Connell with a Lifetime Achievement Award and David Henry Hwang as the latest Playwrights’ Sidewalk Inductee.

Awardees include:

  • Outstanding Revival: TWILIGHT: LOS ANGELES, 1992, written by Anna Deavere Smith, produced by Signature Theatre (which included Francis Jue as cast member);
  • Outstanding Solo Show: Kristina Wong, Sweatshop Overlord, written and performed by Kristina Wong, produced by New York Theatre Workshop;
  • Outstanding Lead Performer in a Play: Shannon Tyo, The Chinese Lady;
  • Playwrights’ Sidewalk Inductee: David Henry Hwang.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.